Get Involved

Get
Involved

Creating a tobacco-free Utah is an effort that involves many different community partners. Together, we can change policy and protect each other from the dangers of tobacco.

Ending nicotine addiction requires commitment from the individual, encouragement from family and friends, and support from the community. To find out more about how to help create smoke-free environments, how to promote a smoke-free African American community and how youth can play a special role in changing public policy, click here. Together, we can change attitudes, perceptions and lives.

Smoke-Free
Housing

As people have become more aware of the dangers of secondhand smoke (SHS), more and more Utahns have smoke-free policies in their homes. Unfortunately, people who live in multiple-unit housing have no control over the SHS caused by neighbors, unless property owners enforce smoke-free policies.

Utahns are used to being protected from SHS. State law keeps people from smoking in workplaces, restaurants, clubs and other public places. People expect clean air in their apartments or condominiums, and deserve the right to live in a safe and healthy environment. There is a high demand for smoke-free housing; properties with non-smoking policies have been shown to have increased interest from renters.

State law keeps people from smoking in workplaces, restaurants, clubs and other public places.

way to quit encourages all Utahns to support smoke-free housing. Many landlords are not aware that SHS is an issue on their property. If you are a renter where SHS is affecting your living space, please let your landlord know and share that you would support a smoke-free policy for the property.

For landlords looking to implement a smoke-free policy, you can find more information and resources here. For a list of smoke-free housing in Utah, click here.

Let’s Fight Back!

Outrage! is a statewide youth coalition that fights vigorously against the tobacco industry by creating policy that can stop or derail its manipulative tactics. We’ve found that the best way to educate our friends and family is by doing something, like banning tobacco sponsorships, banning candy flavors and candy-like tobacco, restricting nicotine products so they can’t be sold to teens, putting larger graphic warning labels on cigarettes, and more.

For more information on how to become a part of OUTRAGE, contact Sarah Mangone.

smangone@utah.gov
801-538-9283

 

Central Health Department
Pam Goodrich
pgoodrich@utah.gov
435-864-3612

Wasatch County Governing Youth Council
Trudy Brereton
tbrereton@wasatch.utah.gov
435-657-3312

Bear River Governing Youth Council (GYC)
Annie Parker-Advisor
aparker@brhd.org
435-792-6509

Davis Students Working Against Tobacco (SWAT)
Denise Mealy
dmealy@co.davis.ut.us
801-525-5079

Green River Cheer Coalition
Erika Gonzalez
piratesden15@gmail.com
801-318-8152

Washington County Youth Coalition
Kaysha Price
435-652-4064
Facebook

Iron County Youth Coalition
Heidi Baxley
hbaxley@sbhcutah.org
435-867-7649

Kane County Youth Coalition
Lexie Little
little@swuhealth.org
435-644-2537

South Summit Youth Leaders
Tiffany Anderson
tanderson@summitcounty.org
435-333-1506

Island Teens Against Tobacco (ITAT), Queen Center
Joyce Ah You
queencenter@msn.com
801-623-1642

Duchesne County Youth Coalition
Marcie Tucker
mtucker@tricountyhealth.com
435-247-1169

Uintah County Youth Coalition
Rosanne Farmer
rfarmer@tricountyhealth.com
435-247-1174

Utah County OUTRAGE!
Sarah Simons
sarahsi@utahcounty.gov
801-851-7096

Central Utah Youth Coalition
Pam Goodrich
pgoodrich@utah.gov
435-864-3612

Salt Lake County
Lauren Bartsch
lbartsch@slco.org

Southeast
Kathy Donathan
kdonathan@utah.gov

Tooele County OUTRAGE!
Hilary Makris
hmakris@tooelehealth.org
435-277-2364

Heidi Peterson
heidip@tooelecity.org
435-843-2188

Sandy Medina
sandym@tooelecity.org
435-843-2187

Weber-Morgan Governing Youth Council
Kristi Jones
kjones@co.weber.ut.us
435-399-7184

Lori Greene
lgreene@co.weber.ut.us
801-399-7189

Copyright © 2017 Utah Department of Health. All Rights Reserved. | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Rep Toolbox
TOP